Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Share your story of discovery

TOPIC: My experience with Aphantasia and being a pianist.

My experience with Aphantasia and being a pianist. 7 months 1 week ago #5234

• AndreasL98
  • New Aphantasiac
  • Thank you received: 2
I noticed that a lot of us that are have total sensory aphantasia (or whatever the name is, can't remember) have struggles being creative or using your creative side, I just wanted to share my experiences of being a decent pianist and using my creative side in everyday as a part of my education in classical music.

I guess I'll just start, so here we gooooooooo!
I have been playing the piano for three years and I am considered a natural talent by my peers (although I don't consider myself in this way at all :P Im your average joe at the piano, plonking away at Mozart) as I am playing as if I have been playing for 14 years when I started only three years ago. I learn fast, have limber fingers and I just generally am good at identifying patterns in sound. I am also quite good at reading sheet music (not to brag or anything).

As a pianist, I don't have much need for visualizing things in my head, but I believe it actually has helped me that I can't see things in my mind. When I play, I close my eyes and as every other pianist in the school has to focus not to get distracted while playing, all I see is darkness. Only seeing the colour black helps me focus on where I am going without looking at the sheet music, as I identify where I am based on what I am playing and what was played last, therefore knowing what I need to play next.