Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: How do you memorize?

How do you memorize? 1 year 7 months ago #2465

• blindmind
  • New Aphantasiac
Since I was kid I have dreamed to be an astronaut someday, so now I checked how to become an astronaut, just for fun. ESA has some downloadable test material, and there is one test that baffles me a lot: memory test.

Before I tell more about the test, I'd like to say that my memory is really terrible. I have hard time memorizing about elementary/high school or my trips abroad, and actually almost everything else. And now I'm a university student. It is quite embarrassing to talk about past with my family or friends, since almost every time (s)he says "Do you remember...?" / "That time when..." I feel foolish since all I can do is to nod or to admit that I don't remember :unsure: . Then some people try to help me to remember things by telling me to visualise something, but it's simply impossible. Before I heard about aphantasia I thought that I was normal and tried to learn myself the memory palace -technique, but it didn't really help at all since my palace was just words in my head. And then wondered how memory palaces could help anyone, and then thank that I was simply stupid or something :P . But thankfully the condition is now noticed and I can live more easily with myself.

Now, back to ESA and the memory test. In the test you see handful of pictures coupled with a two digit number. After a while they disappear and new pictures with numbers become visible. While trying to memorize new picture-number-pairs, one of the old pictures appears and you must enter the number of that picture. This continues for couple of minutes, and then the test ends.