Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Welcome to the Aphantasia forum!

Tell us and our members who you are, what you like and why you became a member of this site.
We welcome all new members and hope to see you around a lot!

TOPIC: Asking for guidance for therapists

Asking for guidance for therapists 10 months 2 days ago #39654

• navydad
  • New Aphantasiac
Hello all,

I am a clinical psychologist working in the Student Psychological Services at a university in the US. I started working with a student about a year ago who seems to have complete aphantasia, which I had not heard of before. Because nearly all standard psychotherapy approaches require access to one's internal experience, including visual images, it quickly became apparent that most of what I had learned in decades of clinical practice was useless with this student. I had to significantly adapt what I was doing and we have spent most of our time trying to understand how the student experiences things and how s/he functions in the world, including mundane tasks like grocery shopping and driving places. I have come to view aphantasia like the way I view Asperger's: a different way of being in the world that has advantages and disadvantages in different contexts. This is not to minimize the challenges, but it is important to recognize and work with the advantages.