Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: ADVANTAGES TO APHANTASIA

ADVANTAGES TO APHANTASIA 1 year 3 months ago #3847

• rayrob
  • New Aphantasiac
  • Thank you received: 1
I've been wondering are there any advantages to having aphantasia
are we better verbally since we have no visual distractions.
are we better listeners
are we able to appreciate visual beauty more since we cant recall it
there's a newness to it every time we see it.
i'm sure there are other advantages what do you folks think
The administrator has disabled public write access.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Juliasnz

ADVANTAGES TO APHANTASIA 1 year 3 months ago #3858

• Sekhmet
  • New Aphantasiac
  • I'm a visual artist with no ability to visualize..
  • Thank you received: 20
Great idea!
As an artist I approach creating art in new ways every time. I can't visually imagine what I'll make, so I'm less hindered by a preconception. I probably end up trying new things more often because of that.

Also for drawing my teachers always said what we "visualize" in our head is usually an incorrect and detail lacking creation. That drawing from that is often a mistake if the goal is creativity.

ADVANTAGES TO APHANTASIA 1 year 3 months ago #3859

• Juliasnz
  • New Aphantasiac
  • Life gives you lemons... so YOU can make lemonade!
  • Thank you received: 4
It's possible I cope a lot better with

1. The gruesome things I've seen than others who have also seen them... I'd put that down to remembering details but not having visual flashbacks...
2. Losing people... I've lost all my family, one by one, over time and while it may seem a bit odd or cold to others I tend to be highly detached... people come... people go... when they're gone... they are GONE. I've no idea what even people close to me look like so I guess I just don't get attached.