Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Want to ask a question or start a poll, do it here.

TOPIC: Visually creative careers - What do you do?

Visually creative careers - What do you do? 1 year 3 months ago #4152

• Aphantelica
  • New Aphantasiac
  • Thank you received: 3
I'm curious how many Aphantasics have a visually creative career (Graphic/Web Designer, Industrial Designer, Visual Artist, Architect, etc) that involves making 'visual' based decisions.

I'm a Geoscientist by profession, but recently started studying graphic design. As I'm unable to visualise, all my design related decisions are based on what 'feels' right, using Intuition. (I'm a myers briggs INFP) I'm interested to know what line of visually creative work people are in, and how they go about making their 'visual' decisions?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Visually creative careers - What do you do? 1 year 3 months ago #4198

• jody
  • New Aphantasiac
  • Thank you received: 1
I do lots of stuff...

I do graphic design - flyers, postcards, websites etc..

I have a small independent publishing house.

I renovate property and then either sell it or rent it out

And I'm just about to start a Masters in Psychology.

I wouldn't say I was visually creative, but I can put together a visually appealing website that is extremely functional. I have very little imagination, but recognise a good story when I read a submission and I love putting old houses back together again.

Help much?
Shit - if only I'd known!

Visually creative careers - What do you do? 1 year 3 months ago #4201

• Aphantelica
  • New Aphantasiac
Interesting. Thanks for the reply.

Sounds like your a creative all rounder :)

I'm keen to hear as many stories as possible. Everything helps.

Thanks again Jody. All the best with your masters.

Visually creative careers - What do you do? 1 year 2 months ago #4377

• Yvonne
  • New Aphantasiac