Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Want to ask a question or start a poll, do it here.

TOPIC: Inner Reading Voices

Inner Reading Voices 1 year 3 months ago #3696

• BPResearch
  • New Aphantasiac
Hi All, i am a student doing research on inner reading voices and would really appreciate your help to find answers to certain questions. Many claim that they hear an imagined voice when reading and claim that this voice comes from within. At the same time, there are also many who report that they do not hear anything while reading and are only able to understand what they read. Both are considered normal experiences.
I recently read an account of a man with aphantasia, who said that his inability to generate imagery is compensated generously by the ability to hear a voice with tone, pitch, loudness etc when reading and thinking

Hence, I'm really curious to find out what the actual experience is from those who have aphantasia and would really truly appreciate if you can share your personal experiences with me. Thank you so very much in advance for your time :)
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Inner Reading Voices 1 year 3 months ago #3697

• zippercow
  • New Aphantasiac
  • Thank you received: 4
I personally only process information as I read it; I do not hear any voices in my head. I cannot actively recall any senses though, so I've never really thought much about reading in particular.

I do give characters voices in stories I read aloud to my children, but I can't ever remember what they last sounded like, so I think the characters have different voices each time.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Tilma, andItsPeter, BPResearch

Inner Reading Voices 1 year 3 months ago #3698

• BPResearch
  • New Aphantasiac
Cool. That makes sense. Thank you for taking the time to respond :)

Inner Reading Voices 1 year 3 months ago #3700

• Juliasnz
  • New Aphantasiac
  • Life gives you lemons... so YOU can make lemonade!