Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Want to ask a question or start a poll, do it here.

Poll: When did your Aphantasia manifest?

My whole life 44 89.8%
I saw things as a child 3 6.1%
As a young adult 1 2%
After 30 No votes 0%
After 40 1 2%
Total number of voters: 49 See more
Only registered users can participate to this poll

TOPIC: When did your Aphantasia manifest?

When did your Aphantasia manifest? 1 year 5 months ago #3238

• Sekhmet
  • New Aphantasiac
  • I'm a visual artist with no ability to visualize..
  • Thank you received: 20
I think I gave myself Aphantasia.

I had intense night terrors every night from age 3 - 23 (maybe earlier, can't remember) I'd be paralyzed, terrified and crying when I was alone in bed.

When I was younger sometimes these terrors would manifest as intense visuals. I'd see horrifying images of writhing bones, blood, flesh, guts, etc just churning around. Occasionally I saw things like molten gold and copper metal folding over and over on itself, and for some reason this was particularly terrifying. I eventually taught myself to stop seeing things and I haven't visualized anything since (aside from occasional gore flashes once or twice a year) I saw 6 psychologists over 10 years about this and none of them were any help. Most just said "hmm, sounds genetic, can't help you"

Also I can't recall EVER visualizing anything non terrifying any time in my life... my brain hates me?

Anyone else have similar experiences? A friend of mine said she knows multiple people who gave themselves Aphantasia to avoid repeatedly visualizing traumatizing events that happened to them.
The administrator has disabled public write access.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Blackstage

When did your Aphantasia manifest? 1 year 5 months ago #3393

• CanISee
  • New Aphantasiac
  • Either aphantasia or nearly 0 visualization skill.
  • Thank you received: 12