Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Trying to describe Aphantasia to fellow creatives

Trying to describe Aphantasia to fellow creatives 1 year 7 months ago #2741

• scotty
  • New Aphantasiac
  • Thank you received: 26
I work as a Designer/Illustrator and I tend to frequent a few design and creative forums.
I recognised that a lot of people with Aphantasia also happen to be creatives in some way which also seems a bit ironic so I thought I'd pose the question "What do you see with your eyes closed" to see how many other creative had it.
I've found one that has but I've also found myself trying to explain to people what it is like and the people that say "that's impossible" or "maybe you're trying too hard". :huh:

I've tried to explain it as "having a mental image but it's like it's behind a black curtain" or "being in a pitch dark room with an object in front of you. You know it's there but you can't see it.
As these people are designers I thought the best way of getting them to understand it was by comparing it to a JPG image file like any image you see on the internet.
You see this as a picture but the computer sees it as code. A string of data or information that the computer recognises but it doesn't see a picture of a kitten.
I know it's not a prefect metaphor but how do you describe it without getting funny looks from people?
The administrator has disabled public write access.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Robson, rerohernandez

Trying to describe Aphantasia to fellow creatives 1 year 7 months ago #2742

• Velvet
  • Junior Aphantasiac
  • Thank you received: 33
I usually describe my mind as being like a book without pictures. My mind can write, explain and create things in great detail. I just use words rather than images.
Again not a perfect metaphor but it works for me. :P

I do like your JPG explanation.
To be nobody but yourself in a world which is doing its best, night and day, to make you everybody else