Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Lucid dreaming and aphantasia

Lucid dreaming and aphantasia 1 year 11 months ago #2115

• Aphantlife
  • New Aphantasiac
Greetings, aphant.asia!

My name is Magnus, I'm 19 years old, and since I was 14-15, I have been a lucid dreamer!
Well, I've been practicing it on and off for the past 4-5 years, but I still consider myself knowledgable on the subject.
For those of you who are unaware, lucid dreaming is a dream where you are aware that you are dreaming, allowing you to take controll of the dream, and to do anything you can imagine, like flying, winning the lottery, having conversations with dead relatives or celebrities, creating music etc. If you haven't heard of lucid dreaming before, I suggest you do some research on the internet right now, before reading more. There is tons of information for free on the internet.

As you might imagine, some of the techniques used to induce a lucid dream requires heavy visualization, and as you can imagine, this is quite hard when you have aphantasia. I hadn't heard about this condition until a few weeks ago, and when I come to think about it, all of my lucid dreams have come to me when I tried out techniques that required no visualization whatsoever! Having come to terms with my "diagnosis", I have found great relief, in that I no longer stress my mind focusing too hard on something that is, let's face it, next to impossible to me. I have also chosen to help others in my situation by creating my own blog (www.aphantlife.com), so I can contribute to more research about this phenomena, as well as help fellow lucid dreamers with the same problems. It's still under construction though, so don't pay too much attention to it.