Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: The Experience of Fiction

The Experience of Fiction 2 years 1 month ago #1653

• Kelly
  • New Aphantasiac
  • Thank you received: 4
Hi Everyone,

So I'm a speculative fiction writer. My short fiction has been published in a number of magazines, and I have a piece that'll be in "Best American Science Fiction and Fantasy." Which is to say, whatever insecurities I may have about my fiction, I have some external encouragement on that path.

Discovering aphantasia, and discussing it with the writing community, has been very strange for me. Hearing my peers say that they "watch scenes and then write them down" or that they experience fiction as "a movie with voiceovers" is completely beyond my comprehension. When I write, it's just words. I have an idea and I find a starting place and I explore it on the page through prose.

I think in some ways, this has helped me. I'm sensitive to the 'feel' of prose. Everything needs to flow cleanly and lyrically. However, I do struggle in other areas. I'm not interested in supplying visuals of my characters. That's perfectly acceptable in short fiction but less so in longer works. I also have trouble with scenes where the spacial element is important. I don't know "where" my characters are in a scene.

Anyway, I'm curious. How do you experience fiction when you read? Do you "hear" it? Do you just flow with the words and the emotions?

And, if you're a writer, what's your writing process?
The administrator has disabled public write access.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Nathan Buzby, Caldonia.Frank

The Experience of Fiction 2 years 1 month ago #1655

• Nathan Buzby
  • Senior Aphantasiac
  • Thank you received: 96