Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Art?

Art? 1 year 17 hours ago #40107

• quakgrass
  • New Aphantasiac
  • Thank you received: 1
i came across aphantasia quite recently when i realized some people actually see images when they dream and i was trying to find out if it's common for people to only see staticky images that are typically in b&w like i do. i'm pretty sure i don't have any ability to actually visualize stuff in my head, because i don't feel like i'm actually seeing an image when i try, i just think of the concept.

the thing that stops me from being totally sure i have aphantasia is that i'm an artist, and i draw without a reference photo a lot. i feel like it's possible that because i've been doing art for so long that it might just be knowledge i've gained over time and muscle memory? i've been drawing my entire life, (since i could hold a pencil basically). and i find that i can't really draw stuff that i don't typically draw from memory at all, despite my technical art skills. like i don't draw vehicles, so i couldn't draw one from memory if my life depended on it. i draw people without a reference all the time, but they're made up so i don't have to memorize any facial features. i don't think i could draw a picture of someone i know irl unless i've drawn them before from a reference several times.

(this is some of my art)

78.media.tumblr.com/5c14eb402300af66b5dd...zpD1sw16l9o1_400.png

78.media.tumblr.com/6ba6fb338307adf023ea...Iwg1sw16l9o1_400.png