Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Visualizing without a picture

Visualizing without a picture 5 months 2 weeks ago #5171

• aksnafu
  • New Aphantasiac
  • Thank you received: 4
Hi, again still probing to understand aphantasia. I don't see pictures in my minds eye. Last night a women said I was visualizing because my eyes were looking up and moving back and forth. This is true in most of the cases when seeing if someone is visualizing(looking up) or thinking (looking down). However, not true in my case. when I visualize I sense the picture, I recall the item(picture) by position, example my living room, I just walked into the room, to my left is the closet, to the right is an end table, a couch, a lamp hanging in the corner, the fire place across the room and a tv on the other wall. So yes i am moving my eyes as if i was looking at a picture. Would this be called visualizing without a picture? in a way it is, but being a retired computer programmer i try to be precise and visualize means to see or form a mental image and i am not seeing a picture..

So what do you thing about the subject, am I visualizing or am I just thinking about where objects are located within my black picture. LOL

thanks for your help.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Visualizing without a picture 5 months 2 weeks ago #5174

• Martha
  • New Aphantasiac
  • Thank you received: 1
Yes, that's how I do it. I call it imagining where things are (because I know where things are). I can walk through the room and know where I am, but I don't see anything.

Visualizing without a picture 5 months 2 weeks ago #5193

• ren
  • New Aphantasiac