Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Visual Artist with Aphantasia? Let's talk!

Visual Artist with Aphantasia? Let's talk! 2 years 3 months ago #3240

• Sekhmet
  • New Aphantasiac
  • I'm a visual artist with no ability to visualize..
  • Thank you received: 21
I want to talk to other visual artists with visual Aphantasia!

- What do you create? (I draw and make jewelry/clothes)
- How do you "imagine" what you will draw/create?
- Walk me through your process
- When/how did you realize you had Aphantasia?
- Do you feel inhibited as an artist because of it? (I don't... though I'm still jealous)

I'm an artist, i've been drawing since I can remember, and throughout childhood was complimented by adults and other kids as being a "natural" artist
I wonder if I was drawn to art because I couldn't imagine thing visually, compensating

There were times in college the art teachers would talk about visualizing things in our head... I was always a little confused, but generally dismissed it. Blows my mind to realize they 100% meant it!!

I have a strong sense of touch and movement when I imagine things. When imagining a dog I will
- feel the softness or coarseness of the fur
- outline the contour with an imaginary hand
- physically embody what it would feel like to be the dog, how my limbs would move as I run, what my jaw and teeth would feel like, how warm my fur is, etc
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Visual Artist with Aphantasia? Let's talk! 2 years 3 months ago #3395

• CanISee
  • New Aphantasiac
  • Either aphantasia or nearly 0 visualization skill.
  • Thank you received: 12
I drew alot as a kid. My earliest scribble drawings didn't resemble much of anything but I could sort of interpret it as an abstract of something.